The Team

The team at Open Gardens SA are a passionate committee of garden enthusiasts dedicated to sharing the beauty of SA's private gardens.

Open Gardens SA is a not-for-profit organisation overseen by a dedicated committee of South Australian garden lovers, including designers, horticulturalists and garden owners.

Victoria Winnall


Vick is a Foundation Member, our Inaugural Chairperson, and is now Co-Chair for 2023-24.

Victoria Winnall was a much-loved and respected chairperson of the original Open Gardens Scheme for many years – probably more than she can count!

She has been a committee member, selector and garden owner and brings years of gardening knowledge.

Tom Wilkinson

Co-Chairperson & Web Manager

Tom is sharing the Chair with Vick Winnall for 2023-24.

He was formative in setting up our organisation, including developing our website, and he is frequently seen running the bar at events.

Tom assisted his wife Marg in opening their garden, Gable Ends, twice, but his heart belongs to his vineyard in the Adelaide Hills.

Lyn Edwards


Lyn was a selector and joined the Committee in 2018.

She opened her garden, The Chestnuts, regularly for many years.

Lyn volunteers for many garden-related organisations, including Mount Lofty, Adelaide Botanic Gardens, and Carrick Hill.

Rob Andrewartha


Rob was our inaugural treasurer and chairperson in 2018.

Rob drives Open Gardens SA's financial success and brings years of financial management experience in the wine industry.

He is also the co-owner of The Garden in Wilpena Street, a beautiful garden in Eden Hills that regularly appears in the spring program.

Virginia Sheridan

Committee Member & Chair of Selectors

Virginia was heavily involved with Open Gardens Australia as a committee member and Chair of Selectors for many years. Virginia joined Open Gardens SA as a Foundation Member in 2015.

She has opened her garden Silverwood on three occasions.

Virginia is interested in anything and everything associated with gardens and gardening.

Marg Wilkinson

Committee Member

Marg is a keen gardener who opened her Gable Ends garden in 2012 and 2015.

She is also a Foundation Member and regularly caters for OGSA events.

Alison Edwards

Committee Member

Alison is a retired primary teacher and self-taught gardener.

She has regularly opened her garden, The Knoll, in Coromandel Valley over many years.

Her passion for gardening and enthusiasm for visiting open gardens prompted her to join our committee.

Dianne Michalk

Committee Member & Media Officer

Di is the key to promoting each open garden on radio, in print and online.

She is a very keen gardener and has been a Open Gardens South Australia member since it was formed in 2015.

Di has a wealth of experience in preparing and opening gardens. She has been opening her garden, Ashgrove Iris Garden, to the public annually since 2000. She was rewarded for her passion by winning ABC Gardening Australia’s “Gardener of the Year 2013.”

Fiona Watson

Committee Member

Fiona Watson became a Foundation and Committee Member for OGSA in 2015 after years on the committee of Open Gardens Australia.

She enjoys being involved with so many wonderfully inspirational people, members and gardens and loves getting stuck into her garden whenever possible.

Fiona has opened her garden in Wayville.

Jamie McIlwain

Committee Member

Jamie brings over 30 years of garden design and landscaping knowledge to our committee.

He is an award-winning Landscape Designer who leads teams of horticulturalists in the Adelaide Hills.

He spearheads our Landscape and Harvest Garden Festivals each year.

John Zwar

Committee Member

John trained in horticulture at Adelaide Botanic Garden and worked in arid northern SA. He undertook an overseas Churchill Fellowship study tour of arid zone horticulture and, in 1981, proposed the establishment of The Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden at Port Augusta, where he still has close involvement. He was the Curator of the National Botanic Garden in Lae, PNG, and a TAFE SA lecturer at Urrbrae.

John was on the committee of Open Gardens Australia and was awarded the Order of Australia Medal in 1989.

Alison Jones

Committee Member

Alison is very much a garden observer. She enjoys the fact that her husband is a gardener, and she gets to enjoy it. They opened their Henley Beach garden in 2021 as part of a group of five gardens—neighbourhood friends who enjoy sharing their gardens and developing their community together.

She enjoys visiting gardens and values the contribution of gardens and gardeners to a healthy environment.

Emma Sadie Thomson

Committee Member

Emma Sadie Thomson is an enthusiastic gardener with a background in landscape architecture. With over a decade of experience in the industry her business specialises in plant styling, plant maintenance and landscape design. She frequently collaborates with architects and interior designers to create custom outdoor greenery. Emma is dedicated to connecting people with nature.